MPs by Year Group   Constitution   MP Duties   About Us   Photo Gallery
Full Constituency Details


Region: Central Region
Member of Paliament: Aboah, Nkrumah Georgina (Mrs)


Economic Activities
The constituency is a highly agrarian local economy, with about 85% of the labour force in active farming. Crops cultivated range from tree cops like: - cocoa, citrus, avacado to staple crops like plantain, maize, cassava, cocoyams and banana among others. There are few industrial activities ranging from manufacturing of roofing tiles, saw milling to small scale industrial activities like citronella oil extraction and agro-processing units, such as gari processing at Jamra and Anwhiam, palm oil extraction at Kuntanase, just to mention a few.
Apart from the above, there are commercial activities constituted by petty trading, hawking, dressmaking, tailoring, hairdressing and fitting, handicrafts and other small scale industrial activities.
At the moment, there is one Saw mill, a Citronella Oil Extraction and Palm Kernel Oil Extraction Factory at Asikuma. Others are aluminum pot manufacturing, especially at Jamra and Odoben and cassava processing at Jamra and Anwhiam.
There are reports of gold at Ayipey Awomaso, Amanfopong and Kokoso. Diamond is found at Awomaso, Enikokow and Kokoso. Mascourte mica and quarry stones are found at Odoben. There are also clay deposits at Bedum and kaolin deposits at Anwhiam. The district is mainly forest area with very rich soils, which ensure that agriculture is very rewarding.
Out of the total land area, about 40% is currently under cultivation by farmers, who form about 85% of the constituency’s labour force particularly for bamboo production. This serves various purposes, especially the furniture industry, both for local market and for export. The main crops cultivated include cocoa, citrus, pears and oil palm.
There are also seasonal crops such as cassava, maize, cocoyam and vegetables. Others are citronella and sugar cane.
There are abundant opportunities which investors can take advantage of in Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa constituency.
The Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa constituency has, in recognition of the growing importance of tourism, identified various potential areas targeted for development into viable tourist attraction sites. It is the aim of the constituency to develop the sites and develop hotel facilities through private investment and is therefore ready to assist any investor in any capacity who would like to invest in this area.
There are three traditional festivals that can attract tourists. These are the Odwira Festival at Asikuma, usually held in November, the Ekwapong Afahye, held at Odoben in October and Pintanko Afahye held in October/November at Brakwa. Also at Asikuma are the Sanshyen Shrine and the Ewusi Ewusi Shrine.
At Baako are the Meretiti Shrine, Baawere stream and Dadwe Shrine, and at Kokoso is the Abisibasa Shrine. Jamra boasts the Anamea Shrine, Esuantenanaano Beach and a deep pit called Ewunoma. At Amanfopong, is the Aduona Stream, special sand and clay deposits, and at Bedum is the huge Odum tree after which the town was named. There is a large rock pedestal with a hanging out crop and a waterfall as well.
The constituency"s capital is Breman Asikuma.
The constituency covers a geographical area of 884.84 square kilometres. It is sandwiched between 4 main constituencies, at a uniform radius of about 40 kilometers apiece from each of them, except Ajumako, which is 25 kilometers away. On the northern border is the Birim South constituency of the Eastern border lies the Agona constituency and the Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam constituency is on the Southern border.
The constituency is an undulating low-lying area, drained by numerous rivers and streams, the most important of which are the Nakwa-Ochi, Sie and Boyow Rivers.
The constituency lies in the semi-equatorial climatic Zone, with monthly temperatures ranging between 26° -34°. Mean annual rainfall ranges between 1200 millimeters to 2000 millimeters.
The constituency is covered by tropical rainforest, with patches of semi-deciduous forest development all over due to excessive logging in the constituency. The forest cover typeface by celstis-triplochiton with a 3-layer strata-emergent, upper layer and understorey layers. Trees found here are Wawa, Cedar, Odum, Edinam, Dahoma and Bamboo among others.
There are four main forests reserves namely, the Baako, Supun, Wawahi and Oboyow forest reserves. Poorly drained sites within the zone are dominated by swamp forest vegetation, which largely composed ofRaphia Vinifers.
Geological Structure and Soil Types
The constituency is basically underlain by Cape Coast Granites rocks, consisting of granite, biotic, muscovite, granodiorite, pegmatite aplite, biotite and schist pendants. There are four main types of soil associations in the constituency namely, Asuansi-Kumasi/Nta Ofin compound association, Opimo-Nyanoo association and chechewere Kakum simple associations.
The main characteristics and structures common to these associations mentioned above are that, they are reddish to reddish-brown, clay-loam to sandy-loam and concretionary to concretionary-clay and silty-clay loam, depending on the topography and physical conditions of their locations.

© Copyright 2010 . All rights reserved. | Privacy & Disclaimer